(500) Days of Summer

Romantic comedies have reached a new high with director Marc Webb’s latest flick titled ‘(500) Days of Summer’, starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Zooey Deschanel in the lead.

With an absolutely wonderful pace of the smooth-running non-linear narrative, you’ll be amazed at how the plot keeps you hooked to the very end. To say the least, the storyline is mainly based on the infamous boy-meets-girl genre. Before you start groaning and rolling you eyes to the heavens, hear me out. Its DEFINITELY not your TYPICAL boy-meets-girl-and-fall-in-love-and-they-lived-happily-ever-after craptacular stories that we have grown so tired of but a rather fresh look on exactly the opposite. Of course there’s love, and even romance… But then again, not quite.

Tom Hanson (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) works as a writer to a greeting card company where he meets and fall head-over-heels for Summer Finn (Zooey Deschanel). The story then takes off on a journey spanning across 500 days of Summer (and Tom), depicting how their ‘quite unlabeled’ peculiar relationship unfolds. Through thick and thin of all, we see the intriguing details of their unnamed, bizarre relationship…

The Gordon-Levitt – Deschanel pair was a delight on screen. The perfectly natural chemistry between the two adds an excellent balance to the story with the right mixture of drama and humor. Quite a few laughs are guaranteed.

watch_500_days_of_summer

This light-hearted comedy could easily be tagged as one of those few rom-coms that would fulfill most of your expectations per se. For me, when I saw the rave reviews on rotten tomatoes, I knew I had to see it and I emerged from the cinema with a big fat smile on my face. That’s when I knew I have reached that particularly rare euphoric stage you only come across when you see a G.O.O.D movie. Emphasis on good here.

To sum, it is funny and it is clever. It is amusing and definitely witty. What else could you look in for a not-so-typical rom-com?

4 thoughts on “(500) Days of Summer

  1. Though I’m a woman and I’m genetically programmed to like romantic comedies, I usually don’t … unless their is something unusual or original about them. What I loved about “(500) Days of Summer” is the way Marc Webb plays with the concept of time and scrambles Tom’s memories of Summer. We never remember things according to some timeline, so this feels right. I also think Joseph Gordon-Levitt does a wonderful job, and I like the bittersweet tone of the movie (the end, however, is C-R-A-P).

    M. Carter @ the Movies
    http://mcarteratthemovies.wordpress.com/

  2. I loved the end, even tho I would have liked for them to stay together… thats life, you hardly get what you want. this move is not a fairytale and If wanted to see a fairytale ending I would have watch a disney movie =S lol.

Leave a Reply

